Skip to main content

IBM System Storage N series Clustered Data ONTAP

An IBM Redbooks publication


Published on 04 June 2014

  1. .EPUB (4.6 MB)
  2. .PDF (7.3 MB)

Apple BooksGoogle Play Books

Share this page:   

ISBN-10: 0738439304
ISBN-13: 9780738439303
IBM Form #: SG24-8200-00

Authors: Roland Tretau, Christian Fey, Michal Klimes, Steven Pemberton, Tom Provost and Youn-Ho Yang

    menu icon


    IBM® System Storage® N series storage systems offer an excellent solution for a broad range of deployment scenarios. IBM System Storage N series storage systems function as a multiprotocol storage device that is designed to allow you to simultaneously serve both file and block-level data across a single network. These activities are demanding procedures that, for some solutions, require multiple, separately managed systems. The flexibility of IBM System Storage N series storage systems, however, allows them to address the storage needs of a wide range of organizations, including distributed enterprises and data centers for midrange enterprises. IBM System Storage N series storage systems also support sites with computer and data-intensive enterprise applications, such as database, data warehousing, workgroup collaboration, and messaging.

    This IBM Redbooks® publication explains the software features of the IBM System Storage N series storage systems with Clustered Data ONTAP (cDOT) Version 8.2, which is the first version available on the IBM System Storage N series, and as of October 2013, is also the most current version available. cDOT is different from previous ONTAP versions by the fact that it offers a storage solution that operates as a cluster with flexible scaling capabilities. cDOT configurations allow clients to build a scale-out architecture, protecting their investment and allowing horizontal scaling of their environment.

    This book also covers topics such as installation, setup, and administration of those software features from the IBM System Storage N series storage systems and clients, and provides example scenarios.

    Table of Contents

    Part 1. Architectural overview

    Chapter 1. Clustered ONTAP: What it is

    Chapter 2. Clustered Data ONTAP 8.2 architecture

    Chapter 3. Terminology

    Chapter 4. Clustered ONTAP compared to 7-Mode

    Chapter 5. HA pairs and failover behavior

    Chapter 6. Physical cluster types and scaling

    Part 2. Features

    Chapter 7. Physical storage

    Chapter 8. Logical storage

    Chapter 9. Networking

    Chapter 10. NAS protocols

    Chapter 11. SAN protocols

    Chapter 12. Ancillary protocols

    Chapter 13. Storage efficiency

    Chapter 14. Data protection

    Chapter 15. Disaster recovery

    Chapter 16. Performance considerations

    Part 3. Cluster setup

    Chapter 17. Physical installation

    Chapter 18. Non-disruptive operations

    Chapter 19. Command Line Interface (CLI)

    Chapter 20. N series OnCommand System Manager 3.0

    Part 4. Storage virtual machine use cases

    Chapter 21. Data protection

    Chapter 22. iSCSI/FC storage

    Chapter 23. CIFS storage

    Chapter 24. NFS storage


    Others who read this also read