ABCs of IBM z/OS System Programming Volume 6

An IBM Redbooks publication

Published 12 August 2014

cover image

ISBN-10: 0738439800
ISBN-13: 9780738439808
IBM Form #: SG24-6986-01
(286 pages)

More options

Rate and comment

Authors: Karan Singh, Rui Feio, Oerjan Lundgren, Bob McCormack, Rita Pleus, Paul Rogers


The ABCs of IBM® z/OS® System Programming is an 11-volume collection that provides an introduction to the z/OS operating system and the hardware architecture. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced system programmer, the ABCs collection provides the information that you need to start your research into z/OS and related subjects. If you want to become more familiar with z/OS in your current environment or if you are evaluating platforms to consolidate your e-business applications, the ABCs collection can serve as a powerful technical tool.

Following are the contents of the volumes:

  • Volume 1: Introduction to z/OS and storage concepts, TSO/E, ISPF, JCL, SDSF, and z/OS delivery and installation
  • Volume 2: z/OS implementation and daily maintenance, defining subsystems, JES2 and JES3, LPA, LNKLST, authorized libraries, IBM Language Environment®, and SMP/E
  • Volume 3: Introduction to DFSMS, data set basics, storage management hardware and software, VSAM, System-managed storage, catalogs, and DFSMStvs
  • Volume 4: Communication Server, TCP/IP, and IBM VTAM®
  • Volume 5: Base and IBM Parallel Sysplex®, System Logger, Resource Recovery Services (RRS), global resource serialization (GRS), z/OS system operations, automatic restart management (ARM), and IBM Geographically Dispersed Parallel Sysplex™ (IBM GDPS®)
  • Volume 6: Introduction to security, IBM RACF®, digital certificates and public key infrastructure (PKI), Kerberos, cryptography and IBM z9® integrated cryptography, Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP), and Enterprise Identity Mapping (EIM)
  • Volume 7: Printing in a z/OS environment, Infoprint Server, and Infoprint Central
  • Volume 8: An introduction to z/OS problem diagnosis
  • Volume 9: z/OS UNIX System Services
  • Volume 10: Introduction to IBM z/Architecture®, IBM System z® processor design, System z connectivity, logical partition (LPAR) concepts, hardware configuration definition (HCD), and Hardware Management Console (HMC)
  • Volume 11: Capacity planning, performance management, Workload Manager (WLM), IBM Resource Measurement Facility™ (RMF™), and System Management Facilities (SMF)

Table of contents

Chapter 1. Introduction to IBM z/OS security
Chapter 2. System Authorization Facility
Chapter 3. IBM z/OS Security Server RACF
Chapter 4. Integrated Security Services
Chapter 5. Cryptographic Services

Follow IBM Redbooks

Follow IBM Redbooks