ABCs of z/OS System Programming Volume 3

An IBM Redbooks publication

Note: A new draft version of this publication is now available

Published 11 March 2010

cover image

ISBN-10: 0738434094
ISBN-13: 9780738434094
IBM Form #: SG24-6983-03
(524 pages)

Authors: Paul Rogers, Redelf Janssen, Andre Otto, Rita Pleus, Alvaro Salla, Valeria Sokal


The ABCs of z/OS® System Programming is a thirteen-volume collection that provides an introduction to the z/OS operating system and the hardware architecture. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced system programmer, the ABCs collection provides the information that you need to start your research into z/OS and related subjects. The ABCs collection serves as a powerful technical tool to help you become more familiar with z/OS in your current environment, or to help you evaluate platforms to consolidate your e-business applications.
This edition is updated to z/OS Version 1 Release 1.
The contents of the volumes are:
Volume 1: Introduction to z/OS and storage concepts, TSO/E, ISPF, JCL, SDSF, and z/OS delivery and installation
Volume 2: z/OS implementation and daily maintenance, defining subsystems, JES2 and JES3, LPA, LNKLST, authorized libraries, Language Environment®, and SMP/E
Volume 3: Introduction to DFSMS, data set basics, storage management hardware and software, VSAM, System-Managed Storage, catalogs, and DFSMStvs
Volume 4: Communication Server, TCP/IP and VTAM®
Volume 5: Base and Parallel Sysplex®, System Logger, Resource Recovery Services (RRS), Global Resource Serialization (GRS), z/OS system operations, Automatic Restart Management (ARM), Geographically Dispersed Parallel Sysplex (GPDS)
Volume 6: Introduction to security, RACF®, Digital certificates and PKI, Kerberos, cryptography and z990 integrated cryptography, zSeries® firewall technologies, LDAP, Enterprise Identity Mapping (EIM), and firewall technologies
Volume 7: Printing in a z/OS environment, Infoprint Server and Infoprint Central
Volume 8: An introduction to z/OS problem diagnosis
Volume 9: z/OS UNIX® System Services
Volume 10: Introduction to z/Architecture®, zSeries processor design, zSeries connectivity, LPAR concepts, HCD, and HMC
Volume 11: Capacity planning, performance management, RMF, and SMF
Volume 12: WLM
Volume 13: JES3

Table of contents

Chapter 1. DFSMS introduction
Chapter 2. Data set basics
Chapter 3. Extended access volumes
Chapter 4. Storage management software
Chapter 5. System-managed storage
Chapter 6. Catalogs
Chapter 7. DFSMS Transactional VSAM Services
Chapter 8. Storage management hardware

Follow IBM Redbooks

Follow IBM Redbooks