IBM System Storage N series Clustered Data ONTAP

An IBM Redbooks publication

Published 04 June 2014

cover image

ISBN-10: 0738439304
ISBN-13: 9780738439303
IBM Form #: SG24-8200-00
(462 pages)

More options

Rate and comment

Authors: Roland Tretau, Christian Fey, Michal Klimes, Steven Pemberton, Tom Provost, Youn-Ho Yang


IBM® System Storage® N series storage systems offer an excellent solution for a broad range of deployment scenarios. IBM System Storage N series storage systems function as a multiprotocol storage device that is designed to allow you to simultaneously serve both file and block-level data across a single network. These activities are demanding procedures that, for some solutions, require multiple, separately managed systems. The flexibility of IBM System Storage N series storage systems, however, allows them to address the storage needs of a wide range of organizations, including distributed enterprises and data centers for midrange enterprises. IBM System Storage N series storage systems also support sites with computer and data-intensive enterprise applications, such as database, data warehousing, workgroup collaboration, and messaging.

This IBM Redbooks® publication explains the software features of the IBM System Storage N series storage systems with Clustered Data ONTAP (cDOT) Version 8.2, which is the first version available on the IBM System Storage N series, and as of October 2013, is also the most current version available. cDOT is different from previous ONTAP versions by the fact that it offers a storage solution that operates as a cluster with flexible scaling capabilities. cDOT configurations allow clients to build a scale-out architecture, protecting their investment and allowing horizontal scaling of their environment.

This book also covers topics such as installation, setup, and administration of those software features from the IBM System Storage N series storage systems and clients, and provides example scenarios.

Table of contents

Part 1. Architectural overview
Chapter 1. Clustered ONTAP: What it is
Chapter 2. Clustered Data ONTAP 8.2 architecture
Chapter 3. Terminology
Chapter 4. Clustered ONTAP compared to 7-Mode
Chapter 5. HA pairs and failover behavior
Chapter 6. Physical cluster types and scaling
Part 2. Features
Chapter 7. Physical storage
Chapter 8. Logical storage
Chapter 9. Networking
Chapter 10. NAS protocols
Chapter 11. SAN protocols
Chapter 12. Ancillary protocols
Chapter 13. Storage efficiency
Chapter 14. Data protection
Chapter 15. Disaster recovery
Chapter 16. Performance considerations
Part 3. Cluster setup
Chapter 17. Physical installation
Chapter 18. Non-disruptive operations
Chapter 19. Command Line Interface (CLI)
Chapter 20. N series OnCommand System Manager 3.0
Part 4. Storage virtual machine use cases
Chapter 21. Data protection
Chapter 22. iSCSI/FC storage
Chapter 23. CIFS storage
Chapter 24. NFS storage

Follow IBM Redbooks

Follow IBM Redbooks