IBM eServer pSeries HACMP V5.x Certification Study Guide Update

An IBM Redbooks publication


IBM HACMP 5.x for AIX 5L (V5.1, V5.2, and the new HACMP 5.3) has introduced major changes to the well-proven IBM high availability solution for IBM eServer pSeries clusters. The changes include product usability enhancements, performance, and integration with the IBM strategic On Demand initiative.

This IBM Redbooks publication provides information for system administrators who want to implement high availability clusters with HACMP V5.x, upgrade an existing cluster to the latest version, or prepare for the HACMP V5.x certification exam to achieve IBM Eserver Certified Systems Expert - pSeries HACMP 5.x for AIX 5L.

The pSeries HACMP 5.x for AIX 5L certification validates the skills required to successfully plan, install, configure, and support an HACMP 5.x for AIX 5L cluster installation. The requirements for this include a working knowledge of:
- Hardware options
- AIX 5L parameters
- The cluster and resource configuration process
- Customization of the standard HACMP 5.x facilities
- Diagnosis and troubleshooting

This book helps AIX 5L professionals seeking a comprehensive and task-oriented guide for developing the knowledge and skills required for the certification. It is designed to provide a combination of theory and practical experience. Due to the practical nature of the certification content, this publication can also be used as a deskside reference.

Table of contents

Chapter 1. Introduction
Chapter 2. Planning and design
Chapter 3. Installation and configuration
Chapter 4. Cluster verification and testing
Chapter 5. Post implementation and administration
Chapter 6. HACMP V5.2 and V5.3
Appendix A. ITSO sample cluster


Publish Date
10 February 2006

Last Update
17 February 2006

(based on 5 reviews)




IBM Form Number

Number of pages